Governing Board offers incentive for Society membership drive

At its spring meeting, the AOCS Governing Board approved a plan to monetarily reward AOCS sections for procuring new Society members. The motion provides for a 25% rebate, to be given to the respective section, on the first year's dues for each new AOCS member recruited by that section. At current membership rates, this means that for each new member procured in this manner the Society will award \$6.00 to the treasury of the section.

That part of the AOCS Constitution dealing with local sections does not require that all section members be members of the Society; spot checks of section membership lists indicate a large potential AOCS membership. It is hoped that this new rebate policy will result in both a substantial increase in AOCS membership and an increase in funds for the development of local section programs.

All current AOCS members who are also members of their local section are encouraged to take advantage of this opportunity to help both the Society and the local group

Robertson named chairman of Food Update Board

During the recent Food Update Seminar in Key Biscayne, Fla., AOCS member Cliff Robertson was named chairman of the Food Update Board of Governors.

Robertson, active for many years in the affairs of the IFT and the food industry, is currently a member of the faculty of the Cape Cod Community College, Hyannis, Mass., where he will be teaching courses on the subjects of "Food Service Science, "Nutrition" and "Wine and Spirits."

Also at the above meeting, AOCS member Ogden Johnson was named as a new member of the Board of Governors.

Food Update is an educational arm of the Food and Drug Law Institute, Washington, D.C., which holds an annual 3 day seminar to update top management personnel on current issues facing the industry. Seminar XII is scheduled for New Orleans, March 25-28, 1973.

AACC votes John H. Nelson president-elect

AOCS member John H. Nelson, Vice-President and Director of Research and Development, Peavey Co., Chaska, Minn., has been named president-elect of the American Association of Cereal Chemists in mail balloting by the Association's 2000 members.

Nelson has been with Peavey Co. since 1968. Formerly associated with General Mills, he received his B.S. and M.S. from Purdue University and his Ph.D. from the University of Minnesota.

Nelson has been deeply involved in AACC work and is currently serving a 2 year term on the Board of Directors. He has been Chairman, Vice-Chairman and Treasurer of the Northwest Section; Chairman, Long Range Planning Committee, 1969-70; Local Arrangements Chairman, 1970; Program Chairman, Los Angeles meeting. He has also served on many technical committees since joining the AACC in 1955.

by encouraging their colleagues to join through the section.

President R.T. O'Connor and Vice-President Frank A.

Norris have contacted the presidents of the local sections and outlined the new policy, and Executive Director Jim Lyon has written to the sections establishing procedures for the program. In order to establish eligibility for the rebates, all new memberships must be submitted through the local section.

Ed Lutton joins consulting firm

E.S. Lutton, an AOCS member since 1944, has joined the staff of B.L. Thomas Associates, a consulting firm working extensively in the field of edible fats and oils. Lutton, who recently retired from his career in research work with Procter & Gamble Co., will continue to work in Cincinnati, location of B.L. Thomas Associates' home office.



Currently an Associate Editor of *Lipids*, Lutton was the

1971 recipient of the AOCS Award in Lipid Chemistry. For more complete biographical information, see JAOCS 48:485A (1971).

